Torps trio in line to play at Inter-Continental Cup

PERTH will play host to the 2019 World League Inter-Continental Cup later this month and there are a host of UWA Torpedoes set to be involved including current goalkeeper Tess Hosking and Canadian import pair Gaelan Patterson and Devon Thumwood.

The FINA World League Inter-Continental Cup will be held at HBF Stadium from March 26-31 with the OVO Australian Water Polo League taking the week off from action as a result, which is good news given the Torpedoes players who are set to be involved.

The Aussie Stingers squad for the tournament includes Torpedoes goalie Tess Hosking who has returned home to UWA this season and is having a strong season in the cage having spent 2018 playing professionally in Hungary.

Meanwhile, the Aussie Sharks squad might not feature any of the current 2019 Torpedoes players but there are a host of UWA names in the line-up.

George Ford, Tim Putt Christian Kyriakou and Andrew Ford are all products of the UWA Torpedoes who have been named in the Sharks squad highlighting the strong program in place by UWA to produce four members of an 18-man national squad.

Canada will be one of the visiting teams coming to Perth for the Inter-Continental Cup as they continue their quest to qualify for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Only one nation from North and South America will qualify for the Olympics leaving Canada battling with the USA and Brazil for that spot.

This Inter-Continental will provide a good chance for Canada to take another step in that direction and two players who will feel right at home, and won’t have to deal with the jetlag of flying in from Canada will be Torpedoes pair Gaelan Patterson and Devon Thumwood.

Both players have made a strong impact at the Torpedoes this season in what is their first seasons playing at UWA.

With a young team around them, they are being played upon to play key roles in the group and are doing that well to now ensure they will also be part of Canada’s push to do well not only at the Inter-Continental Cup but also to book a spot for Tokyo next year.

Countries from USA, New Zealand, Japan, China, Kazakhstan, South Africa and Canada will all be in attendance as teams look to qualify for a spot in the FINA World League Finals later in the year.

USA won both the men’s and women’s titles at the 2018 FINA World League Inter-Continental Cup in New Zealand and will be out to dominate once again.

The Aussies took home the silver medals and will be looking to go one better on their home soil in front of a passionate water polo crowd in Perth.

A few internationally based Aussie players, including Keesja Gofers, Hannah Buckling, Elle Armit, Jess Zimmerman, Lena Mihailovic, Joe Kayes, Nathan Power, George Ford and Anthony Hrysanthos, are returning home to help campaign for the Aussie Sharks and Aussie Stingers.

They’ll be joined by their fellow squad members who will take a break from the busy OVO Australian Water Polo League schedule in a bid to secure another medal for Australia on home soil.

Zoe Arancini – Fremantle Marlins, WA
Elle Armit – Drummoyne Devils/Padova, NSW
Isobel Bishop – Sydney Uni Lions, NSW
Hannah Buckling – Sydney Uni Lions/Olympiacos, NSW
Pascalle Casey – UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Keesja Gofers – Sydney Uni Lions/Olympiacos, NSW
Lilian Hedges – Fremantle Marlins, WA
Tess Hosking – UWA Torpedoes, WA
Bronwen Knox – Queensland Thunder, Qld
Genevieve Longman – UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Lena Mihailovic – ACU Cronulla Sharks/FTC, NSW
Sophie Milliken – Queensland Thunder, Qld
Gabriella Palm – Queensland Thunder, Qld
Amy Ridge – UNSW Wests Killer Whales, NSW
Nioka Thomas – UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Rowie Webster – UTS Balmain Tigers, NSW
Lea Yanitsas – UNSW Wests Killer Whales, NSW
Jessica Zimmerman – Rapallo (Italy)

Nic Brooks – Drummoyne Devils, NSW
Richard Campbell – UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Joel Dennerley – UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Blake Edwards – Drummoyne Devils, NSW
Lachlan Edwards – Drummoyne Devils, NSW
Andrew Ford – UNSW Wests, NSW
George Ford – UWA Torpedoes/Mataro, WA
James Gillfeather – UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Lachlan Hollis – UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Rhys Howden – Queensland Thunder, Qld
Anthony Hrysanthos – Sydney Uni Lions/Vouliagmeni, NSW
Joe Kayes – Pro Recco (Italy)
Christian Kyriakou – Sydney Uni Lions, NSW
Angus Lambie – UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Charlie Negus – UNSW Wests Magpies, NSW
Nathan Power – UNSW Wests Magpies/Jadran ST, NSW
Tim Putt – UWA Torpedoes/Primorie, WA
Aidan Roach – Drummoyne Devils, NSW